I never knew

Did you know that Oscar Wilde spent two years in an English jail (1895-’97) doing hard labor because he was convicted of “homosexual offenses.” Wilde was born in 1854 in Dublin, Ireland and died in France in 1900 a penniless man. When he was released he fled to France and wrote his final poem titled: The Ballad of Reading Gaol (Reading Gaol was the name of the prison he was in.)

Here is an excerpt:

Yet each man kills the thing he loves
By each let this be heard.
Some do it with a bitter look,
Some with a flattering word.
The coward does it with a kiss,
The brave man with a sword

This section of the poem was put as an epitath on his tomb

And alien tears will fill for him,
Pity’s long-broken urn,
For his mourners will be outcast men,
And outcasts always mourn

I was also unaware that his only novel is The Picture of Dorian Gray. I rather enjoyed that book.  Come to think of it, I think I’ll read it again! It’s been a while. And he wrote the screenplay – The Importance of Being Ernest (1895). I enjoyed that as well.

Here are some Wilde quotes:

Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.

I am not young enough to know everything.

I think I would like to have be able to sit down with this gentleman and have a chat. I think he was an interesting fellow.

Published in: on May 27, 2011 at 11:26pm05  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/i-never-knew/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

