The Picture of Dorian Gray

The Picture of Dorian Gray  (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)I had read this book quite a while ago, so long that I’ve forgotten enough that I wanted to read it again. I remembered that I like it, and I wasn’t disappointed the second time around. This time I listened to it. It’s fun that way – almost like a move or an old radio production. I pulled this trailer off YouTube thinking there was an old version I’d like to see, but came upon a 2009 remake with Colin Firth – bingo! Now all I have to do is find the thing. (see the trailer I’ve linked to the blog. Looks like fun!)

Anyway, the interesting thing about the book this time around is how intense I felt about the character, Henry. He’s such a rogue really, and how he corrupts Dorian is just pure evil in a cravat. Here are a few of Henry’s quotes that I particularly liked:

One should never do anything you can’t discuss after dinner.

To get back my youth, I’d do anything, anything in the world except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.

The only downfall to the story is that Henry doesn’t really get his comeuppance unlike poor Basel. If you haven’t read it in a while, it’s definitely worth the re-read.

Published in: on August 13, 2011 at 11:26pm08  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/the-picture-of-dorian-gray/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

