The Burnt House by Faye Kellerman

The Burnt HouseNot sure how I picked up this book – I “read” it via audio, so I think I just picked it up at the local library, and I wasn’t disappointed. It is a fun who-done-it, not on the order of Agatha Christie fun, but a good story, well written, with a good ending.

The main character is a police detective, Peter Decker,  a Jewish, kosher police detective no less. (I thought this was very interesting and would like to know why the author chose those features for this character. As a writer, this makes me curious.) He is thrust into a case by a local plane crash, but it’s not as simple as shifting through the charred remains to identify the bodies. There is a body that may or may not have been on the flight, and another dead body that is found amongst the wreckage but ends up not being from the plane.

The story plays out logically and you never really have all the answers until the end – though interestingly enough, all the probably bad guys don’t all get their due. I bit a reality here though it doesn’t leave you feeling unsatisfied. (Well, maybe just a little.) But it’s a good read or a good listen especially when George Guidall (of “The Cat Who…” fame) does the narration. I found myself wanting to drive to work to find out the ending, and that’s saying something!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/the-burnt-house-by-faye-kellerman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

