Charles Dicken’s David

I have been trying to read or re-read classics lately, so I picked up Mr. Dicken’s David Copperfieldat the library a while back.  I was pleasantly surprised how much I liked it. I listened to this book on audio and when I saw it had twenty some CD’s, I questioned my wisdom to try it. But Charles managed to keep me entertained through the whole thing! No easy feat for such a long novel. This book was first published 1849 and apparently is somewhat autobiographical. It follows young David’s life from being pulled from a loving mother who dies prematurely, through many tough and harrowing experience for such a young lad, only to have him land on his feet – mostly by his own devices. He ends up with a wonderful Aunt Betsey who has taken in a man everyone thinks is crazy because of a dead King who keeps trying to show up in his life, among other things.

The book takes him through more interest times as a young man and new people, good and bad that continue to come into his life. I just giggled at the way Mr. Dicken’s playfully mocks David’s first true love – Dora – a woman who you just cringe at because she’s so idiotic but who David can find no fault with, as all blind love can be. [That hasn’t changed either.]

I’m happy to say that alls well that ends well (I won’t give away the ending for those who want to read or re-read it), and despite the length of the thing, Dicken’s leaves you with a warm feeling in your belly. I really enjoyed it, and I continue to marvel at how books written in the 1800s, such as the sullen though interesting Crime and Punishment by Dostoyevsky, can still ring true today. People really haven’t fundamentally changed in all that time and Dicken’s David really brings that point home.

Published in: on February 2, 2012 at 11:26pm02  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/charles-dickens-david/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

