Brida by Paulo Coelho

Well, it’s 2 for 2: 2 Paulo Coelho books I’ve really liked and two I haven’t. Brida is the second in the not like column. It’s not that it’s badly written, it’s that it takes Paulo so long to get around to the reason he wrote the story in the first place, and unfortunately, getting up to that point (if I’m even sure I understand the main thing he’s trying to get across to people) is not that interesting.

The story is about a young woman’s journey to try and find out more about herself and more specifically what her life skill is. It turns out her life skill is being a witch. So if you’re going to be a witch, that predisposes you to meet some interesting people, it’s just that most of what these people have to say is not that interesting to me. There is a lot of talk of soul mates, and how this is why we are here. If Paulo means this literally, I don’t agree. I think we are here to make connections with people, not just with a soul mate.

Paulo’s lessons in the story are toward the end. I won’t state them here so I won’t spoil it for you if you decide to read this book –  I’m not even sure if I have them right – but they are big themes: God and Love and Owning things and people – so I think I’ve got them correct, but this is not a book I would read over, so read at your own risk.

Published in: on May 18, 2012 at 11:26am05  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/brida-by-paulo-coelho/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

