Special Anniversary

I’m a few days past this anniversary date, but I didn’t want to overshadow the importance of Memorial Day.

The anniversary I’m talking about it the day the Golden Gate bridge was opened, 75 years ago Sunday. I’ve collected a small gallery of photo’s since it is “the most photographed bridge in America.”

I have a found memory of this bridge myself. I was in Oakland, visiting a friend and we decided to take a bay brunch cruse.  It was a cool day and they were about to serve brunch, so most people where inside, but I couldn’t force myself in because of the spectacular scenes going on outside.

I was standing on the top deck with just a few other strangers. We were inching toward the Golden Gate Bridge and I started to make some small talk with an elder gentleman standing close by. He said, the last time I did this I was on my way to the Pacific in a troop ship. It was an amazing way to see the bridge, and what memories that must have brought back for the gentleman. I was glad I braved the cold to be able to share that with him.

A few tidbits of information about the bridge: the designer is Joseph Strauss with help from Leon Moisseiff and engineer Charles Ellis, on opening day in 1937 it was open to just pedestrians, 19 workers fell into the safety net that was under the bridge and were saved, 10 died when a piece of scaffolding fell with the men, tearing the net. It is approx. 1.7 miles long, also – unfortunately – it is known as the bridge with the most suicides in the world.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/special-anniversary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

