Changes by Jim Butcher

Book Blurb: Long ago, Susan Rodriguez was Harry Dresden’s lover-until she was attacked by his enemies, leaving her torn between her own humanity and the bloodlust of the vampiric Red Court. Susan then disappeared to South America, where she could fight both her savage gift and those who cursed her with it.

Now Arianna Ortega, Duchess of the Red Court, has discovered a secret Susan has long kept, and she plans to use it-against Harry. To prevail this time, he may have no choice but to embrace the raging fury of his own untapped dark power. Because Harry’s not fighting to save the world…

He’s fighting to save his child.

Genre: Paranormal fantasy

What I liked: I know it’s kind of silly to start a series on book 12, but that was what was available in audio at my local library and I was going on a long road trip and needed “reading” material to make it the whole way from Wisconsin to New York! I picked it up because I book blogger I like really recommended this series, so I thought I’d give it a try, not know anything about it. I was surprised when the start of the book they start taking about vampires and wizards. I groaned, and thought, not another vampire series. Well, it isn’t. It took just a bit of getting into it (probably because it was book 12 and not book 1) and I was hooked. I enjoyed the Dresden characters wit and wizardry skill, though the author, Jim Butcher, makes sure he has enough flaws to make him believable.  The book is also well written. There is a nice twist toward the end and despite the leave you hanging feel, I like the very ending as well.

What I didn’t like: Not much. There were a few odd things: a talking skull, other worlds that are accessed via a sort of time travel that pull the story further into the paranormal, but for the most part, the story is fast paced and enjoyable.

Rating: 4/5. I think I’ll probably try a few more of these.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/changes-by-jim-butcher/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks interesting; think I’ll try it, too.

    • This book was good, but I’d probably start with an earlier book in the series!


Let me know what you think!

