May I have this waltz, Patti?

from boston.com

from boston.com

I heard a piece on NPR this evening about Patti Page and I just had to put in my two cents. (Patti died at the age of 85 on January 1st of this new year).

Patti’s very popular song – “The Tennessee Waltz” – was one of my father’s favorites. I even have a recording of that that I played for him (when he was still with us) on an old phonograph I have, the wind up, needle as big as a pencil lead phonograph. I can still see my mother and father dancing at weddings to a tune like “The Tennessee Waltz.” My parents were quite good. I didn’t find out until much later, after I had taken a ballroom dance class in college, that yes, they were good, but the only dance my father knew was the foxtrot.

Patti was born, November 8th, 1927 in Claremore, Oklahoma. “The Tennessee Waltz” was recorded in 1950. She is also well known for the song “(How much is that) Doggie in the Window.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/may-i-have-this-waltz-patti/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Christine, A really sentimental story. I can really relate to it. Janete

    • It’s funny how songs and sometimes even smells will trigger a memory.

  2. Have you heard the Hank Williams version?

    • I haven’t but I’m sure it’s good if it’s coming from Hank.


Let me know what you think!

