A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton

a if for alibiActually, A is for Almost. A is for Alibi is almost there but not quite.  We were listening to it in our car on a trip to meet family and even my husband thought it was just so, so.

Genre: murder mystery

Blurb: A IS FOR AVENGER
A tough-talking former cop, private investigator Kinsey Millhone has set up a modest detective agency in a quiet corner of Santa Teresa, California. A twice-divorced loner with few personal possessions and fewer personal attachments, she’s got a soft spot for underdogs and lost causes.

A IS FOR ACCUSED
That’s why she draws desperate clients like Nikki Fife. Eight years ago, she was convicted of killing her philandering husband. Now she’s out on parole and needs Kinsey’s help to find the real killer. But after all this time, clearing Nikki’s bad name won’t be easy.

A IS FOR ALIBI
If there’s one thing that makes Kinsey Millhone feel alive, it’s playing on the edge. When her investigation turns up a second corpse, more suspects, and a new reason to kill, Kinsey discovers that the edge is closer–and sharper–than she imagined.

What I liked: The writing was fine. The dialogue was fine. The story was plausible.

What I didn’t like: It didn’t keep my interest. I was stuck in a car while listening to it and it was only 3 CD’s in length (thank goodness), so we listened to the whole thing, but I didn’t connect with the main character – Kinsey Millhone – at all, and I kept getting the different characters mixed up – they just weren’t that memorable. I am not a mystery writer and most of the mysteries I have read have been Agatha Christie, so I really can only compare Ms Grafton’s work to hers, and I’m sorry to say, it doesn’t compare. I will try one more Grafton alphabet novel, maybe picking further up the alphabet, hoping she improved with practice.

Rating: 2.5/5

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/a-is-for-alibi-by-sue-grafton/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

