Happy 100th Grand Central!

I am a fan of New York City so when I heard that today is the 100th Anniversary of Grand Central Station, I just had to write about it. I think New York City is a wonderful place to visit, though I wouldn’t want to live there. I love it for it’s diversity – any city that has a flower district is all right by me – and for it’s history, so rich in culture and the epitome of the birth and life, the socio-economic life, of a city in these every changing United States. These are a few pictures I took on my last visit there this last summer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I visited the city after graduating from college in 1983 – I’m dating myself here – the station was dirtier and not as posh. The very clean vestibule I picture here had a good share of homeless people camped out in it. There were shops the food vendors then, but it wasn’t as high class as it is today. The city did a wonderful job cleaning it up in the 1990s.

Here are few fun facts: Grand Central Station is the largest indoor public space in New York. It was built by the Vanderdilt family – they owned the New York Central Railroad at the time. It has (had?) more tracks and train platforms than any other station in the world.

I remember  seeing a long line of train tracks and platforms just off the main area then discovering there was another whole set right underneath it! When I lived in Connecticut, I would take the commuter train from Westport into the city. I was amazed as how many people did that each and every day- and still do!

Daniel Brucker – manager of the GCS tours – says that 750,000 people walk through the station every day – that is more than the entire population of Alaska! I was amazed to learn that in the 1960s the New York Central Rail Co. was bankrupt and there was talk of tearing down the building and building another sky scraper – just what New York needed!  At the time, the building was in a sad state of disrepair. Luckily many others saw the importance of preserving this building – including Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis – so the Supreme Court established the landmark conservancy act with Grand Central Station being the first building it saved. It is a must see spot in any New York City tour.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/happy-100th-grand-central/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog shine. Please let me know where
    you got your design. Thanks

    • Hello Phone – it was a preset design from WordPress. I like it too since it doesn’t cost me anything (thank you wordpress) and it has enough features that it looks semi-professional. I would recommend wordpress.


Let me know what you think!

