Poe Anniversay

poe coverOn this date in 1841, (172 years ago!) Edgar Allan Poe published what is thought to be the first English-language contribution to the mystery genre, The Murders in the Rue Morgue. He introduced C. Auguste Dupin, a French eccentric who used deductive reasoning to solve crimes. Sound familiar?

He also published two other Dupin stories: The Mystery of Marie Roget, and The Purloined Letter, neither of which I have read. I think I’ll read these,  starting with the Rue Morgue, which a read a long time ago so I don’t remember, and let you know how it goes.

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/poe-anniversay/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on Right to the (Pen's) Point and commented:
    Today, on April 21, commemorates the 172nd anniversary that Edgar Allan Poe published what’s believed to be the first English-language contribution to the mystery genre. A great anniversary to celebrate, for sure!

    Thank you, Christine Keleny, for honoring Poe by writing this great post!

    Poe is one of my favorite writers. If I could, I’d celebrate the anniversary by visiting the Edgar Allan Poe Museum only I could celebrate

    • He is a favorite of mine, too. Did you see the movie (I forget the title)? I thought they did a pretty good job of it. I’m not into gore but it was still good and creepy!

      I didn’t know Poe had a museum, though I should have guessed. Where is it?

  2. His poem, Annabelle Lee, is my all-time favorite poem. I read The Tell-Tale Heart aloud for my high school literature class. I mean I had to read it out loud. It was quite dramatic!

    • I even like reading a Tell-Tale Heart out loud to myself!


Let me know what you think!

