An Invisible Thread by Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski

I listened to this one because it was picked by my book club.

invisible threadGenre: non-fiction, biography

Blurb: (Goodreads)   In the tradition of the New York Times bestseller The Blind Side, The [an] Invisible Thread tells of the unlikely friendship between a busy executive and a disadvantaged young boy, and how both of their lives changed forever.

What I didn’t like: There is some repetition – the authors say the same thing that Maurice says at the end of the book in a letter he writes to Laura (the busy executive) but other than that, I can’t think of anything else I didn’t like. (See, there are some books I like, R. – my daughter thinks I’m too critical about the stories I read).

What I liked: It’s a very nice story – happy ending and all for all involved, though I think Laura might have more issues to deal with than the panhandler, Maurice. It’s always hard to hear about abuse (Laura’s father was an alcoholic and abusive to his family) and have them all just step gingerly around him vs just leaving him. It’s hard to understand how forgiving  his family was to him, but that says a lot about that family. And Maurice’s love of his mother is astounding too. I don’t think she was abusive to Maurice, but she just wasn’t around, she was high most of the time and a poor role model. I see that too in my friend Willie. When we were working together to write his book, I rarely heard him talk poorly about his mother, either, even though she wasn’t much more help to him than Maurice’s mother was. The story was also well written, mixing Laura’s and Maurice’s stories in a logical, interesting way. I listened to this and it was narrated by Pam Ward. She did a fine job.

Rating: 4/5

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/an-invisible-thread-by-laura-schroff-and-alex-tresniowski/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I seldom comment, however i did some searching and wound up here An Invisible Thread by Laura
    Schroff and Alex Tresniowski | ckbooksblog. And I do have a couple
    of questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be only me or does it look as if like a few of these comments look as if they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of your social sites like your Facebook
    page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • You can follow me on facebook, twitter and linkedin by clicking on the icons on the right side of my blog page. I have another blog I have for my self-publishing business where I blog about issues related to writing and self-publishing at http://www.ckbookspublishing.com/blog/ if you’re interested in that sort of thing.
      Thanks for your interest.

  2. Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back once again since i
    have bookmarked it. Money and freedom iis the best way to change,
    may you be roch and continue too help others.

  3. Hello I am sso glad I found your site, I really found you byy error, while
    I was browsing on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just liuke to say kudos ffor a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  4. My brother suggested I miught like this website.
    He used to be entirely right. This put up truly made my day.
    You can not believe just how much time I had spent for
    this info! Thank you!

  5. I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.

    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own site and want to find out where you
    got this from or just what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

    • It’s called Quentin and I got it from wordpress. I would highly recommend them. Very user friendly and lots of themes to choose from.

  6. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m
    looking at options for another platform. I would
    be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    • Sorry to tell you but this is wordpress. My son uses blogspot. You can try that. Also – there are some extra security things you can do on wordpress to avoid hackers. Just do a wordpress search for security. Good luck!

  7. Titanfall Hacks

    An Invisible Thread by Laura Schroff and Alex Tresniowski | ckbooksblog

  8. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this website is
    truly good and the visitors are actually sharing nice
    thoughts.

    • Hello Me!
      Glad you like it.
      Stop by any time!
      Christine

  9. A good and interesting review, Christine. Thanks for stopping by my blog and following. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • Thanks Patrica. You have a lovely website.


Let me know what you think!

