Tarzan’s Birthday

I missed it. It was Tarzan’s birthday yesterday.

from blog.oup.com

from blog.oup.com

 

Tarzan was created by Edgar Rice Burroughs in 1912. I think I might have one of those original books. I got it from my father’s book collection when he passed. That type of action adventure story would be just what my dad would have liked. In fact, my dad liked Tarzan so much he had vinyl records (they feel like vinyl plates they are so thick) of Tarzan. They sound great on my crank phonograph. I imagine back in 1912, that was quite the story, and seeing how many times it’s been redone in various forms, I think people today still like a good Tarzan story, too.

from one of the original Tarzan movies with Johnny Weissmuller as Tarzan, Maureen O'Sullivan as Jane, and Johnny Sheffield as "boy." I don't know the name of the ape.

from one of the original Tarzan movies (1941) with Johnny Weissmuller as Tarzan, Maureen O’Sullivan as Jane, and Johnny Sheffield as “boy.” I don’t know the name of the ape.

I think a new Tarzan should be coming around again, don’t you think? Maybe I’ll do a knock off it someday. Sounds like a fun project.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/tarzans-birthday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. When I was young, I used to try to do the Tarzan “call.” I wanted all the wild animals to come to me. I never came close to mastering it. My cat flattened her ears and ran from me. I stopped trying for humane reasons… 😐

    • Did you ever see Carol Burnett doing it? I’ll never forget that one!

      • Oh yeah, She was so good at it!


Let me know what you think!

