Paper Towns by John Green

This was recommended by a fellow blogger, and I liked the last book I read of Mr. Greens (The Fault in Our Stars) so I thought I’d give this one a go.

Genre: YA coming of age

paper townsBlurb: Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer Q gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.

What I liked: I could really see this happening. Mostly the beginning of the book. Not so much what happens at the end. But if I were a teen, I’d like to read about my friends skipping graduation and going on an adventure with me. Sounds like fun, but most parents wouldn’t allow such a thing (speaking as a parent). I also like the Quentin character, somewhat his friend, Margo, though I think she’s a little self-centered.  The discussion and hints about sex are well done (it would be unreal not to have sex at least in conversation, in a teen book)- not overt but they seem real enough to be believable. A PG-13 book. I listened to this book. It was narrated by Dan John Miller and he did a wonderful job.

What I didn’t like: The kids figuring out the clues and the mystery is a little far fetched, but not so much that it spoils the whole book. And the philosophizing at the end seems a bit deep, maybe even boring (and I’m not even a teen reading this). I could imagine a teen skipping over some of the end parts. All good information, mind you, but a little too much.

Good read for any age, but definitely geared toward teens.

Rating: 4/5

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/paper-town-by-john-green/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

