Still Life by Louise Penny

still lifeA good friend gave me this book. I had not read any Louise Penny but I probably will read more.

Genre: Murder mystery, 293 pages of very small type (my paperback edition), published in 2007, 1st Armand Gamache mystery

Blurb: (Goodreads) Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec and his team of investigators are called in to the scene of a suspicious death in a rural village south of Montréal and yet a world away. Jane Neal, a long-time resident of Three Pines, has been found dead in the woods. The locals are certain it’s a tragic hunting accident and nothing more but Gamache smells something foul this holiday season…and is soon certain that Jane died at the hands of someone much more sinister than a careless bowhunter.

With this award-winning first novel, Louise Penny introduces an engaging hero in Inspector Gamache, who commands his forces—and this series—with power, ingenuity, and charm.

What I liked: It was a good story; good characters, good plot, different subplots (subplots that had very little to do with the story but added to character development), and I couldn’t guess who done it! It was interesting to read about life in small town, Canada. Similar to small town Wisconsin as far as I could tell.

What I didn’t like: I always have a hard time reading stories from other countries that use in apostrophe with dialogue (Canada, Australia, maybe the UK too, I’m not sure). It’s a minor annoyance but sometimes (especially with the small type I was reading, it was hard to see when someone was talking.  The other thing that was just a bit hard to swallow was how everyone saw themselves or others in town in the “still life” painting the dead character did. If the painting is as busy as it sounds (it’s a scene of parade), then I highly doubt people could pick themselves out of a crowd.

Rating: 4/5

Published in: on September 21, 2014 at 11:26pm09  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/still-life-by-louise-penny/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I always like your reviews! 🙂


Let me know what you think!

