29 Books That Will Enrich Your Inner Literati

Do you agree with this list?
I don’t agree with 50 Shades – I heard the writing was not good. A book has to have good writing to make any reading list I think is worthwhile.

How many of these have you read?
I’ve read 11.

29 Books That Will Enrich Your Inner Literati | TIME.

 

Published in: on April 2, 2015 at 11:26pm04  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/02/29-books-that-will-enrich-your-inner-literati/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Since I have an English degree, I have been force-fed all of these books at some point in my life…I say force-fed, but actually many of them I consumed happily.

    • My husband recently read the classic – “Grapes of Wrath.” I think I had to read that in school but that was so long ago, I can’t remember. My husband didn’t like it. I have yet to re-read it, but I think it might be like some of the classics – they were good at one time but now are only worth reading if you want to learn about a story that bucked the norm of literature at the time of their publication. I’ve read a few of Fitzgerald’s books that were like that, or maybe I just don’t like his style.
      Reading is a subjective pastime.

  2. I’ve read 6 and one of them was NOT 50 Shades. I heard it was bad writing was well.

  3. Wow. I’ve not read too many of these! I’ve clocked in eight, but definitely want to real just about all of these… I’m going to pass on ’50 Shades…’ though…

    • I agree. Beside not being interested in that genre, I’ve heard from many people that the writing is very bad. I hate reading bad writing. It’s such a waste of my time when there is so many better books out there, many of which are on this list!

      • Exactly! There are far to many well-written tomes available in the world!

  4. Reblogged this on Obzervashunal and commented:
    Get your READ on! I thank Christine Keleny at CKBOOKSBLOG for this list and for reminding me how much I miss reading classic literature!

    • Thanks for the reblog, K’lee L.

      • Absolutely! I think lots of people will appreciate it.

  5. This reminds me of a quote I read somewhere that most of the books you will read in your life, you will read before 18 years! It’s true for me. I’ve read many books on the list (and have most of the others on my “to read” list – except Shades of Grey), but most I read while I was still in high school!

    • Oddly enough, I read very little in high school – only the required reading. It wasn’t until I got out of college that I really started reading, but I’m catching up fast!

  6. Seriously? 50 Shades? This is a good example of why I no longer read Time Magazine.

    • I would guess just because it’s a social thing but I agree!


Let me know what you think!

