The Murders in the Rue Morgue Anniversary

Today is the 175 anniversary of the publishing of Poe’s book: The Murders in the Rue Morgue, April 20, 1841, proving that a good story never dies!

8247909It’s been  a long time since I read it. I think I’ll have to read it again.

In The Murders in the Rue Morgue, all of Paris is in shock following the ghastly murder of two women—but with all witnesses claiming to have heard the suspect speak a different language, the police are stumped. When Dupin finds a suspicious hair at the crime scene, and places an advert in the newspaper asking if anyone has lost an “Ourang-Outang,” things take an unexpected turn. In The Mystery of Marie Roget, Dupin and his sidekick undertake to solve the murder of the beautiful young woman who works in a perfume shop, whose body is found floating in the Seine.

aepoe.org

aepoe.org

 

Published in: on April 20, 2015 at 11:26pm04  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/the-murders-in-the-rue-morgue-anniversary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. He was such a genius…a troubled one, but genius nonetheless! Annabelle Lee is my all time favorite poem. 🙂

    • I agree. Did you see the movie they did on one of his books awhile back – it was a major motion picture not an indie film or documentary. I was impressed. Sorry. I can’t remember the title.

      • No I didn’t. I so rarely go to the movies. 😦

        • I often get movies out of the library, though I like going to the movies too. Good films inspire my writing like good books do.

          • I agree. I watch a lot of Netflix and movies on Amazon Prime.


Let me know what you think!

