If you want something doing, ask Edith Wharton

Interesting piece on Edith Wharton. I didn’t know anything about her before reading this. (I see a book in my future!) I really enjoyed her “Ethan Frome” but I haven’t read anything else from her.

Hard Book Habit

photo-of-Edith-undated-Beinecke

Edith Wharton, best known for her novel ‘Ethan Frome’, was one hell of a woman. Born in New York in 1862 to affluent parents, her equally affluent and well-to-do marriage didn’t work out, and she realised there was no hope of salvaging it, she found herself living in France. Then the first world went and broke out, and she stayed to help. Not just in the drawing rooms of the rich, raising funds and holding benefits, although she probably did that too, but she also set up work programs and did hands-on humanitarian work, at one point, taking charge of 600 children who had to flee their orphanage due to the German advance. I break into a cold sweat if I have to marshal and keep alive one child that’s not my own, let alone 600.

In 1916, Edith took six weeks off, and went to the Fountainbleu to work…

View original post 147 more words

Published in: on June 26, 2015 at 11:26pm06  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/26/if-you-want-something-doing-ask-edith-wharton/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool photo and very interesting info on Edith Wharton. She’s one of my favorite authors – I haven’t read all of her books but probably will eventually. “Ethan Frome” is one of my favorite books of all time – I reread that every few years.

    • I like that one too and is the only one of hers that I have read so far, but I plan on reading more!

  2. I love Edith Wharton! I especially love “The Age of Innocence” and “The House of Mirth.”

    • Good to have a couple more titles to read. Thanks for the recommendations!


Let me know what you think!

