Characters in Motion – Valerie Biel

Layered Pages

Circle of Nine Valerie Biel II

One of the best parts of being an author is the freedom to create diverse casts of characters. I like combining characters of different ages or characters from different eras. In my debut novel Circle of Nine: Beltany, I combine historical chapters and modern chapters. The main character in this novel is a modern teen in the United States, but the historical characters (her ancestors) are Irish and range in age from teen to elderly. And, one of my middle-grade novels is set at a senior living center, combining a cast of pre-teens with octogenarians.

This is why my rejection letters often said, “While I enjoyed the story and characters, I am not certain how to market this.” Oh, the horror! What shelf should this book live on?!? The good news is that my books have managed to live on many shelves, and I have had no problem marketing…

View original post 1,127 more words

Published in: on April 1, 2016 at 11:26pm04  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/characters-in-motion-valerie-biel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

