The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

I had heard that Joan Aiken was a famous author of children’s stories, so I thought I should read/listen to one of her famous stories. This one won a Lewis Carroll Award.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (The Wolves Chronicles, #1)

Stats: First published in 1962, print 181 pages, audio 4 discs – 4′ 49″, this version was read by her daughter – Lissa Aiken

Blurb: Wicked wolves and a grim governess threaten Bonnie and her cousin Sylvia when Bonnie’s parents leave Willoughby Chase for a sea voyage. Left in the care of the cruel Miss Slighcarp, the girls can hardly believe what is happening to their once happy home. The servants are dismissed, the furniture is sold, and Bonnie and Sylvia are sent to a prison-like orphan school. It seems as if the endless hours of drudgery will never cease.
With the help of Simon the gooseboy and his flock, they escape. But how will they ever get Willoughby Chase free from the clutches of the evil Miss Slighcarp?

What I liked: The writing was quite good and after a time, when it really took off, it was an interesting story, even for an adult reading a MG book. Aiken also did a good job pulling you into the time that the story took place. One of the best things was the “cruel Miss Slighcarp.” She was a really bad, bad guy. this story was read by Joan’s daughter, Lissa and she did a nice job.

What I didn’t like: The beginning was slow and it took quite a while for it to pick up.

Rating: 3.5/5

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/the-wolves-of-willoughby-chase-by-joan-aiken/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Christine Keleny with a review for the audio book The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken.  Audio books are certainly part of the publishing evolution as far as I am concerned and whilst it is more common to find audio for the classics and highly popular authors it is becoming increasingly viable for Indie authors too. https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/the-wolves-of-willoughby-chase-by-joan-aiken/ […]

    • I would agree. I make my first book “Rosebloom” into an audio book. I used someone locally but you can find narrators on ACX to split the royalties with and then it’s more cost effective. I have some technical issues with my mp3 version but I will have it on ACX this year. I have it in CD form too.


Let me know what you think!

