The Moving Finger – Agatha Christie

The Moving Finger (Miss Marple, #4) I wanted a light read (listen) so I picked this up at the library. After reading it, I’m not sure where the title comes from, other than maybe the moving finger are the fingers of the townspeople pointing at different people related to who done it (?).

Stats: First published in 1943, I think it was Ms Christie’s 4th book. The audio version is 5 discs, 6′ 10″ worth, narrated by Martin Jarvis. Print is 299 pages

Blurb: The placid village of Lymstock seems the perfect place for Jerry Burton to recuperate from his accident under the care of his sister, Joanna. But soon a series of vicious poison-pen letters destroys the village’s quiet charm, eventually causing one recipient to commit suicide. The vicar, the doctor, the servants—all are on the verge of accusing one another when help arrives from an unexpected quarter. The vicar’s house guest happens to be none other than Jane Marple.

What I liked: Agatha was able to distract me – put up a good smoke screen as she describes in the story – to make me think of everyone but the true murder, so the ending was satisfying.

What I didn’t like: This is a Miss Marple mystery and the incomparable Marble didn’t show up until the end, which was unfortunate in my eyes. I enjoy Miss M.’s personality. This isn’t one of Christie’s best stories – the beginning drags and when listening to it, it’s hard to keep all the characters straight, but I’m not sure that is an issue for the written book (the way it was originally published). Martin Jarvis’ narration was well done.

Rating: 3.5/5

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/the-moving-finger-agatha-christie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Let me know what you think!

