A Lesbian Artist Who Painted Her Circle of Women at the Turn of the 20th Century

I like this painting so I thought it would make a good Photo Phriday post. I’ve never heard of Romaine Brooks.

First Night Design

Romaine Brooks, “Self-Portrait” (1923), oil on canvas, Smithsonian American Art Museum, gift of the artist

WASHINGTON, DC — Tucked into a far corner of the Smithsonian American Art Museum, an exhibit showcases the extensive career of artist Romaine Brooks, a turn-of-the-20th-century icon who’s since bee…

Source: A Lesbian Artist Who Painted Her Circle of Women at the Turn of the 20th Century

View original post

Published in: on October 28, 2016 at 11:26pm10  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/28/a-lesbian-artist-who-painted-her-circle-of-women-at-the-turn-of-the-20th-century/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog. I’m exactly the same – I love this particular painting and I’d never heard of her either!

    • Thanks for expanding my horizons!
      Christine
      p.s. Do you think she was really that white in person or that is just how she painted herself? I wonder…

  2. I agree that this portrait is kind of haunting (in that ghoulish way). I wonder why?

    I’ve been buried deep in all the things life throws at a person, but I needed to carve out some time to visit my Peeps! Miss you!❤

    • Sorry life’s throwing things at you. But glad you could come up for air!

      • Most of it of my own creation, C. You know how that goes…

        • We can be our own worst enemy at times. Been there, done that 😉


Let me know what you think!

