A Good Concept, But– : S. by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst

This is so cool and innovative! Reminds me of an idea I have about “extras” for my Agnes books. (I’ll share that when I have it all figured out 😉
I’ve got to see if my library can order this for me.
I am thoroughly intrigued!

Audrey Driscoll's Blog

I’ve pretty much given up reviewing books here, preferring to do that on Goodreads. But this book is such a special case, I thought I would dump out my thoughts about it here.

This is what it looks like.

S., or Ship of Theseus

First of all, in the ubiquitous 5-star rating system, I would give this book three stars. Maybe 3.5 — mostly for a clever and intriguing package. It really does celebrate (and, some would say, desecrate) the book as physical object. The book, entitled Ship of Theseus, supposedly published in 1949, really does look like an old library book, complete with return dates stamped inside the back cover. (The latest date is from 2000, which suggests that good old Pollard State U is really behind the times, because rubber date stamps disappeared from college libraries long before the end of the last century. But never mind that). The grey buckram binding…

View original post 670 more words

Published in: on November 29, 2016 at 11:26am11  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/29/a-good-concept-but-s-by-j-j-abrams-and-doug-dorst/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very interesting – you should do that for Agnes books. I always love those author notes type of thing and I like used books that have writing in the margins. Someone even made a book about things people find in old books like photos and notes and lists and things.

    • It is an interesting idea! I have something else planned for the Agnes books 😉


Let me know what you think!

