And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie

I had seen this in movie form (Title was Ten Little Indians – don’t know the year, there were a few of these made over the years) but had not read the book, so I was curious if they were the same or different. The ending was much different!

17070123Stats: Audio book is 5 discs or 6 hours, narrated by Dan Stevens – Matthew Crawley of the famed Downton Abbey fame! the print version is 264 pages.  This edition was created in 2013. The print edition was first published in 1939!

Blurb: (Goodreads): Considered the best mystery novel ever written by many readers, And Then There Were None is the story of ten strangers, each lured to Soldier Island by a mysterious host. Once his guests have arrived, the host accuses each person of murder. Unable to leave the island, the guests begin to share their darkest secrets; until they begin to die.

What I liked: For once, the blurb for a novel is not overstated. I think this is the best mystery and best Agatha Christie novel I have read so far. I loved how it was impossible to figure out. I had seen the movie, so when it started to veer away from the movie story line (toward the end) I was interested to see what Agatha had done. I had no clue who done it! And the answer was just as interesting. With ten people, there are lots of things of stories to juggle, but even listening to it, I manage to keep most of them straight, most of the time. Dan Stevens does a wonderful job with the narration. Each person has a personality and a definitive voice.

What I didn’t like: It was just a bit hard to believe the murder (won’t say who) managed everything so smoothly and the weather even cooperated so well to keep them on the island, but it is a fiction story, after all.

Rating: 5/5 highly recommend you listen to this one!

p.s. I just found out that this book was altered (even by the author) to make it more PC. I don’t know the details but I’m not surprised. Now I have to find the original. I guess the original was “Ten Little Indians.” I do understand this, but the reader has to be given a bit of a brain to know that something written in 1939 is not going to be the same as stuff written today (as the original Nancy Drew is not PC, but I wouldn’t want them to change those originals either – though they did. You can still find the originals, though).

Published in: on May 18, 2017 at 11:26pm05  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ckbooksblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/and-then-there-were-none-agatha-christie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great review. This is my favorite Agatha Christie Book.

    • Mine too, now!
      But have you read the original, unchanged version?! See if it’s at your bookstore, would you?!

      • I don’t know if I have read that version – I will check the store – I would prefer the original. I’ll let you know!

  2. The original title was Ten Little Niggers, even worse than Ten Little Indians! When I came to play the housekeeper in a production in the seaside town of Southwold in Suffolk in the ’80s, the director (old school) refused to change Ten Little Indians, even though And Then There Were None was already becoming the politically correct title. For the very plot holes you describe, I’ve never wanted to read the original book!

  3. A great review of this famous book, Christine. This is my favourite Agatha Christie and I thought it was very clever. I thought you might like to know that I took your advise and have redone the covers of my first two books. I will be re-launching the new look books soon.


Let me know what you think!

